The National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution (SAR) invites all Eagle Scouts interested in the American Revolution to participate in the Arthur M. & Berdena King Eagle Scout Contest. The contest is open to all Eagle Scouts who are currently registered in an active unit and, except as provided in the paragraph below, have not reached their nineteenth birthday during the year of application. The year that the Eagle rank was awarded is not restricted. Contest year is Jan 1 to Dec 31.

Awards are as follows: National First Place Winner receives $10,000; 2nd Place – $6,000; 3rd Place – $4,000; 4th Place – $2,000; 5th Place – $1000; 6th thru 10th – $500; and 11th thru 15th – $200. The First Place Winner will be asked to appear at the SAR Annual Congress, held in June or July, to be recognized and receive the award. Travel and lodging allowance will be provided.

The awards may be taken as either a cash award, or as a scholarship to an educational institution.

An Eagle Scout may apply for the contest in more than one year if they meet the age requirements, but no more than $10,000 total will be awarded to any one Eagle Scout. Prizes and recognition may also be awarded at the SAR Chapter and State Society level. Each Eagle Scout must complete an application form, a four-generation ancestor chart, and a 500-word patriotic themed essay.

The competition is conducted in three phases: the local Chapter level, State Society level, and National level. The competition is usually entered at the Chapter level, though in some cases, the competition may be entered at the State Society level. Applicants may not enter at the National level. Contest entrants need complete only one application for the SAR Chapter level competition. The application of the Chapter level winner is forwarded to be used in State Society and National level competitions by the SAR as appropriate. A complete set of rules, along with the application for both the applicant and the sponsoring SAR members, can be found on the Eagle Scout Application Form available for download on the link below. Please be aware that the local application deadline dates may vary, so interested applicants should reach out to the local SAR State Eagle Scout contact listed below for further details.

Contest Resources


Eagle Scout Contest Application Click Here
Eagle Scout Contest Example Essay Click Here
Eagle Scout Sample Topics Click Here
Four Generation Ancestor Chart Click Here



Society Contact Name Email Address
Alabama SAR Eric D. Alford
Alaska SAR John F. Rogers
Arkansas SAR Allen J. Bush
Arizona SAR Richard Young
California SAR William Nay
Colorado SAR Andrew McCreight
Connecticut SAR Timothy C. R. Wilkins
Dakota SAR Donald L. Kellogg
Delaware SAR Noel H. Kuhrt, Jr
District of Columbia SAR Joel Hinzman
Empire State SAR (NY) Tim Middlebrook
Florida SAR Benjamin F. Tidwell, III
Georgia SAR William R. Coffeen
Germany Society SAR John Ashley Null
Hawaii SAR John L. Miller
Idaho SAR Randy L. Bailey
Illinois SAR George W. Tinkham
Indiana SAR Kevin L. Waldroup
International SAR T. Rex Legler III
Iowa SAR Douglas L. Frazer
Kansas SAR Kirk Rush
Kentucky SAR Timothy C. Brown
Louisiana SAR Joe Childress
Maine SAR David L. Manchester
Maryland SAR Jonathan T. Street
Massachusetts SAR Joseph Gauthier
Michigan SAR Gerald Burkland
Minnesota SAR Richard Smith
Mississippi SAR Mike Tischer
Missouri SAR Gary Gift
Montana SAR Robert Green
Nebraska SAR Ryan Fuller
Nevada SAR Vacant vacant
New Hampshire SAR Douglas M. Wood
New Jersey SAR Charles Morgan, Jr.
New Mexico SAR Kris D. Jones
North Carolina SAR James Johnson
Ohio SAR Lance E. Beebe
Oklahoma SAR Gary Jensen
Oregon SAR Eugene A. Foley
Pennsylvania SAR Mark E. Burt, PhD
Rhode Island SAR John W Adams
South Carolina SAR Coby Alexander
Tennessee SAR Austin Seay​​
Texas SAR Art Munford
United Kingdom SAR Jeffrey L. Hedges
Utah SAR Paul L. Child
Vermont SAR Kevin Mullen
Virginia SAR Kenneth Hawkins, Ed.D.
Washington SAR Greg Emerson
West Virginia SAR Harold T. Cox, Jr.
Wisconsin SAR Robert Haglund
Wyoming SAR Rodger A. Salzman

Previous Winners


Year Winning Eagle Scout Sponsoring SAR Society
2021 Logan Mathews Missouri SAR
2020 Michael McPhie California SAR
2019 Ambrose Terneus Nebraska SAR
2018 James M. Donovan Missouri SAR
2017 Joseph M. Jaeger Illinois SAR
2016 Grant Mercer Georgia SAR
2015 Padraic G. Hennessey Missouri SAR
2014 Samuel P. Donovan Missouri Sar
2013 David C. Hager Florida SAR
2012 Abram M. Weeks Utah SAR
2011 Robert Rasmussen Minnesota SAR
2010 David Cadwell Pegado Empire State SAR
2009 Gerrit S. Bakker Michigan SAR
2008 Paul Banwart Minnesota SAR
2007 Charles C. McBride II Conneticut SAR
2006 Michael W. Grogan Missouri SAR
2005 John R. Rassmussen Minnesota SAR