The National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution (SAR) invites all Eagle Scouts interested in the American Revolution to participate in the Arthur M. & Berdena King Eagle Scout Contest.  The contest is open to all Eagle Scouts who are currently registered in an active unit and, except as provided in the paragraph below, have not reached their nineteenth birthday during the year of application.  The year that the Eagle rank was awarded is not restricted.

​Temporary Transition Rules Extension – Any youth who registered as a member of Scouts BSA between February 1, 2019, and December 1, 2019 and was granted an extension by the National Council BSA to complete the Eagle Scout rank requirements after they have turned 18 years of age, will have 365 days from the date their Eagle Scout application was validated by the National Advancement Program Team to enter the contest.  A copy of the approved extension must be attached to the contest application.  College plans do not have to be completed in order to receive the awards.

​Three awards are given: National First Place Winner receives $10,000; Runner-up receives $6,000; and 2nd Runner-up receives $4,000.  The First Place Winner will be asked to appear at the SAR Annual Congress, held in June or July, to be recognized and receive the award.  The awards may be taken as either a cash award, or as a scholarship to an educational institution.  An Eagle Scout may apply for the contest in more than one year if they meet the age requirements, but no more than $10,000 total will be awarded to any one Eagle Scout.  Prizes and recognition may also be awarded at the SAR Chapter and State Society level.  Each Eagle Scout must complete an application form, a four-generation ancestor chart, and a 500-word patriotic themed essay.

​The competition is conducted in three phases: the local Chapter level, State Society level, and National level.  The competition is usually entered at the Chapter level, though in some cases, the competition may be entered at the State Society level. Applicants may not enter at the National level.  Contest entrants need complete only one application for the SAR Chapter level competition.  The application of the Chapter level winner is forwarded to be used in State Society and National level competitions by the SAR as appropriate.  A complete set of rules, along with the application for both the applicant and the sponsoring SAR members, can be found on the Eagle Scout Application Form available for download on the link below.  Please be aware that the local application deadline dates may vary, so interested applicants should reach out to the local SAR State Eagle Scout contact listed below for further details.


Contest Resources

 

Eagle Scout Contest Application Click Here
Eagle Scout Contest Example Essay Click Here
Four Generation Ancestor Chart Click Here

Contacts

 

Society Contact Name Email Address
Alabama SAR Blake C. Stephenson blakestephenson101@gmail.com
Alaska SAR John F. Rogers johnrgrs0@gmail.com
Arkansas SAR Allen J. Bush ajb1@swbell.net
Arizona SAR Edward J. Koeneman edkoeneman@gmail.com
California SAR William Nay bill.nay@comcast.net
Colorado SAR Sidney C Hughes sidhughes@mac.com
Connecticut SAR Timothy C. R. Wilkins bluenote517@aol.com
Dakota SAR Donald L. Kellogg dkellogg@gwtc.net
Delaware SAR Davis L. Wright davis.wright@verizon.net
District of Columbia SAR Joel Hinzman joel_hinzman@hotmail.com
Empire State SAR (NY) Tim Middlebrook tmiddlesar@gmail.com
Florida SAR Jim Stone jim5176@hotmail.com
Georgia SAR William R. Coffeen billcoffeen@gmail.com
Hawaii SAR John L. Miller jackmiller@hawaii.rr.com
Idaho SAR Randy L. Bailey randybailey@idahosar.org
Illinois SAR George W. Tinkham coolbreeze@att.net
Indiana SAR Kevin L. Waldroup kevin@kevinwaldroup.com
International SAR T. Rex Legler III t.leglerii@comcast.net
Iowa SAR Douglas L. Frazer dlfrazer@yahoo.com
Kansas SAR Kirk Rush kirkrush@att.net
Kentucky SAR Timothy C. Brown KYSAREagleScout@gmail.com
Louisiana SAR Patrick R Hugg hugg@loyno.edu
Maine SAR David L. Manchester davidlmanchester@outlook.com
Maryland SAR Jonathan T. Street eagle-scout@marylandsar.org
Massachusetts SAR Joseph Gauthier pineriver99@gmail.com
Michigan SAR Gerald Burkland bftb@tds.net
Minnesota SAR Richard Smith eaglechair@airpost.net
Mississippi SAR Mike Tischer kmtischer51@gmail.com
Missouri SAR J. Howard Fisk jhoward@fisk.limo
Montana SAR Robert Green bobbycorno8d@gmail.com
Nebraska SAR Merle A. Rudebusch mrudebusch@neb.rr.com
Nevada SAR Stephen Schroder nvsarpatriot@icloud.com
New Hampshire SAR LTC Douglas M. Wood (Ret.) doug.wood@comcast.net
New Jersey SAR William Schmitz wfschmitz@yahoo.com
New Mexico SAR Kris D. Jones dewi_sant1@msn.com
North Carolina SAR Ed McBride ed_mcbride@yahoo.com
Ohio SAR Lance E. Beebe lancebb@sbcglobal.net
Oklahoma SAR Gary Jensen gary@jensenmyway.com
Oregon SAR John Berg BergOregonSAR@JB70.net
Pennsylvania SAR Ernest L. Sutton sareagle1@aol.com
Rhode Island SAR John W Adams JWAdams148@aol.com
South Carolina SAR James W. Forrester K4jf@mail.com
Tennessee SAR Walter J. Timoschuk, III wtimosch@comcast.net​​
Texas SAR Art Munford goaggies@suddenlink.net
United Kingdom SAR Jeffrey L. Hedges hedgeslon@hotmail.com
Utah SAR Paul L. Child drpaulchildsr@gmail.com
Vermont SAR Kevin Mullen kevinbrianmullen@yahoo.com
Virginia SAR Kenneth Hawkins, Ed.D. drklhawkins@gmail.com
Washington SAR Greg Emerson emersongregoryd@gmail.com
West Virginia SAR Harold T. Cox, Jr. kootaga@suddenlink.net
Wisconsin SAR Robert Haglund haglundrobert@sbcglobal.net
Wyoming SAR Rodger A. Salzman rasalzman@att.net

Previous Winners

 

Year Winning Eagle Scout Sponsoring SAR Society
2020 Michael McPhie California SAR
2019 Ambrose Terneus Nebraska SAR
2018 James M. Donovan Missouri SAR
2017 Joseph M. Jaeger Illinois SAR
2016 Grant Mercer Georgia SAR
2015 Padraic G. Hennessey Missouri SAR
2014 Samuel P. Donovan Missouri Sar
2013 David C. Hager Florida SAR
2012 Abram M. Weeks Utah SAR
2011 Robert Rasmussen Minnesota SAR
2010 David Cadwell Pegado Empire State SAR
2009 Gerrit S. Bakker Michigan SAR
2008 Paul Banwart Minnesota SAR
2007 Charles C. McBride II Conneticut SAR
2006 Michael W. Grogan Missouri SAR
2005 John R. Rassmussen Minnesota SAR