SAR History                 Education                 Patriotism                Genealogy              Library 

SAR Naval Academy awards for 2014


At ceremonies at the U.S. Naval Academy on May 21 four awards were presented to midshipmen by Compatriots Jack London, Barry Mckown, and Bruce Wilcox.

This year's National Society of the Sons of the American Revolution Prize recipient is Midshipman First Class Kennan M. Healy.

Midshipman Healy received the award for his honors thesis "The US Military Telegraph Corps in the American Civil War: A Case Study Regarding the Modernization of the American State" (attached). He was nominated by Associate Professor Lunsford, the class honors advisor. Midshipman Healy is from Leawood, Kansas. He is a double major in Honors History and Economics. He will be reporting to naval aviation training to become a pilot after graduating.

This year's National Sons of the American Revolution Founders of America Award recipient is Midshipman Second Class Tyler Derderian for his essay "Illegitimate Men for Irregular Combat: The French and Indian War." He was nominated by a visiting professor from Texas Christian University Gene Smith. Midshipman Derderian is a history major from Colchester, Vermont. He plays hockey, fishes, and bikes, and is an avid Red Sox fan.

The inaugural recipient of the Captain Samuel Nicholson Naval and Marine Corps History and Leadership Prize is Midshipman First Class Caleb J. Drogowski. Midshipman Drogowski is receiving the award for his honors thesis paper "William Eaton's Quest for Tripoli: A Case Study in Insurgency and Irrregular Warfare" (attached). He was nominated by the class honors advisor, Associate Professor Lunsford. This award was established this year by Former Foundation President Jack London.

Midshipman Second Class Peter R. McGee was the recipient of the General Horace Porter Award from The John Paul Jones Chapter of the Maryland Society. This is awarded to the Midshipman who has done the most for the advancement of history at the United States Naval Academy.

Left to right in the photo are Dr Jack London, Midshipman Derderian, Midshipman Healy, Midshipman Drogowski, and PG (07-08) Bruce Wilcox

Submitted by Bruce Wilcox