SAR History                 Education                 Patriotism                Genealogy              Library 

General William C. Westmoreland Award


     The General William C. Westmoreland Award was authorized in 1996, and only one award is presented annually to an SAR member who has distinguished himself by his service to veterans. The deadline for nominations from a state-level society or a chapter for this award is January 1. Nominations are to be made using the special nomination form that is available online. The SAR Veterans Committee determines a winner at the Spring Leadership Conference in Louisville, Kentucky, and the award is presented at the annual SAR Congress. Among the criteria considered in making a selection are: the number of hours volunteered for serving veterans; service on veterans committees at the chapter, state-level society, and national levels; hours and miles driven to help veterans; the number of items and cash contributions made to Veterans Services; association with other organizations that work with veterans; sponsorship of veteran events at SAR events; and accomplishments in regards to veterans programs.

     The Westmoreland Award is a special gold version of the SAR's Service to Veterans Medal. An SAR member may receive this medal only once. A certificate accompanies the medal. Oak leaf clusters or other ribbon attachments are not authorized.


SAR 2015 Westmoreland Parrish

2015 General William C. Westmoreland Award Winner

Darrell Joe Parrish with SAR President General Lindsey Brock


        Mr. Darrell Joe Parrish, a member of the Governor Isaac Shelby Chapter in the Kentucky SAR, was presented the General William C. Westmoreland Award by President General Lindsey Brock at the 2015 SAR Congress in Louisville, Kentucky. Compatriot Parrish has served over 2,000 hours at the Robby Rex Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Louisville, where he volunteers his time in the pharmacy. He has driven nearly 4,000 miles to help veterans, and the number of items he has donated to veterans exceeds 25,000 pieces. A three-year member of his chapter’s Veterans Committee, he regularly participates in Honor Flight receptions at the Louisville airport. The SAR Veterans Committee is proud to recognize Compatriot Darrell Joe Parrish as the 2015 General William C. Westmoreland Award recipient.