SAR History                 Education                 Patriotism                Genealogy              Library 

2012 - 2013 NSSAR General Officers


2012-2013 General Officers


Elected at Phoenix, Arizona, July 2012

  • President General -- is the chief executive officer of the SAR. He guides the policies, oversees headquarters operations, and appoints the members of all the committees.  He presides over meetings of the Executive Committee, the Trustees, and the annual Congress.  He (or his designated representative) represents the SAR at the meetings of or in negotiations with other organizations.



Stephen A. Leishman


Stephen A. Leishman (DE) has been a member in good standing with the Delaware Society since 1999.  Stephen A. Leishman was elected President General of the National Society, Sons of the American Revolution, in July, 2012 to serve a one-year term.

Secretary General

joexyzatverizon [dot] net (Joseph W. Dooley) (VA)

Maintenance of records of the activities of the executive committee, trustees, and national congresses; headquarters staff operations; compiling officer and committee reports for distribution at meetings; meeting registration.

Treasurer General

lindsey [dot] brockatcomcast [dot] net (Lindsey C. Brock) (FL)

Maintenance of financial records; advice and action on financial issues; headquarters merchandise operation; dues

Chancellor General

Thomas E. Lawrence (TX)

Advice and action on legal issues relating to the national society.

Genealogist General

Larry P. Cornwell (AL)

Guidance on genealogical problems related to applications for membership and supplementals.

Registrar General

J. Michael Tomme, Sr. (GA)

Maintenance of membership records

Historian General

rftownsatmindspring [dot] com (Robert F. Towns (GA))

Securing and interpreting of the records required to document the history of the national society.

Librarian Genera