SAR History                 Education                 Patriotism                Genealogy              Library 

2011 - 2012 NSSAR General Officers


2011-2012 General Officers


Elected at Winston-Salem, North Carolina, July 2011

  • President General -- is the chief executive officer of the SAR. He guides the policies, oversees headquarters operations, and appoints the members of all the committees.  He presides over meetings of the Executive Committee, the Trustees, and the annual Congress.  He (or his designated representative) represents the SAR at the meetings of or in negotiations with other organizations.



Larry J. Magerkurth


Larry J. Magerkurth has been a member in good standing with the California Society since 1998.  Larry J. Magerkurth was elected President General of the National Society, Sons of the American Revolution, on July 13th, 2011 to serve a one-year term.

Secretary General

Stephen A. Leishman (DE)

Maintenance of records of the activities of the executive committee, trustees, and national congresses; headquarters staff operations; compiling officer and committee reports for distribution at meetings; meeting registration.

Treasurer General

Joseph W. Dooley (VA)

Maintenance of financial records; advice and action on financial issues; headquarters merchandise operation; dues

Chancellor General

Thomas E. Lawrence (TX)

Advice and action on legal issues relating to the national society.

Genealogist General

Larry P. Cornwell (AL)

Guidance on genealogical problems related to applications for membership and supplementals.

Registrar General

Lindsey C. Brock (FL)

Maintenance of membership records

Historian General

Charles R. Lampman (CA)

Securing and interpreting of the records required to document the history of the national society.

Librarian General

Michael C. Wells (AL)

Guidance for maintaining the national headquarters library and museum

Surgeon General

Abraham R. (Rudy) Byrd, III. M.D. (AZ)

Advice and assistance for maintaining the health of our members.

Chaplain General

Rev. Dr. James C. Taylor (TX)

Advice and assistance for ministering to the spiritual needs of our members.


Executive Committee Appointees

PG David N. Appleby (MO)
John L. Dodd (CA)
Samuel C. Powell, PhD  (NC)
COL Robert F. Towns (GA)
Paul M. Wilke (OH)

Vice Presidents General

These general officers serve as intermediaries between the national society and the state societies, grouped into fifteen Districts (geographic regions, two of which are outside the United States):

  • New England - David J. Perkins : Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut
  • North Atlantic - William J. Woodworth : New York and New Jersey
  • Mid-Atlantic - Lawrence E. McKinley : Delaware, Maryland, The District of Columbia, Pennsylvania, and Virginia
  • South Atlantic - Charlie Newcomer, III : North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida
  • Southern - James H. Maples : Alabama, Tennessee, Mississippi, and Louisiana
  • Central - Theodore Rex Legler, II : Ohio, Indiana, West Virginia, and Kentucky
  • Great Lakes - Thomas C. Cochran : Michigan, Illinois, and Wisconsin
  • North Central - Frederick A. Walden : Minnesota, The Dakota Society, Iowa, and Nebraska
  • South Central - Dennis E. Boyer : Missouri, Kansas, Arkansas, Oklahoma, and Texas
  • Rocky Mountain - Edmund P. Karr : Arizona, Colorado, and New Mexico
  • Inter-mountain -  John T. Bancroft: Idaho, Montana, Utah, and Wyoming
  • Western - Louis V. Carlson, Jr. : California, Nevada, and Hawaii
  • Pacific - Donald B. Thomas : Washington, Oregon, and Alaska
  • Europe - Jacques de Trentinan : United Kingdom, France, Switzerland, Germany, and the remainder of the Continent of Europe
  • International - Robert F. Towns : all territory outside of the other districts



For a listing of Previous National Society Officers, you can visit a listing here.